What I just finished reading-Beloved by Toni Morrison

beloved

I just finished this book. It is one that I have been meaning to read for some time now.

This novel won the Pulitzer prize and I can see why. I read the book in just under 3 days. I had a hard time putting it down in the evenings (which is usually when I have the time to read for pleasure). The last night I stayed up until almost 1 am to finish.

Beloved is the story of Sethe, an escaped slave, and her daughters. It takes place sometime after the Civil War. We learn about Sethe’s history through her memories and the memories of Paul D, a man from her past that shows up on her doorstep years later.  The story drew me in and held on from beginning to end. The characters became flesh and bone people to me. I was crying along with Sethe and nervous along with Beloved.

Once I was finished reading Beloved I handed it immediately to my 16 year old daughter as one of her first reading assignments for the year. I feel that this book will give any daughter an insight into how a mother feels about her children and what lenghts we will go to for thier protection.

I am glad that I finally picked it up.

Go get you a copy already.

Y’all Come Back Now.

July 30, 2009. Homeschooling.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

