Believe It or Not, Chickens Don’t Know to Come In Out of the Rain.

We had some rain and some unusually cool weather earlier this week.

When my husband went out to check on the chicks, this little guy was out in the weather, shivering and trying desperately to get back into his house.

106_1338

He was soaked to the skin and the first thing we could think of was to bring him into the bathroom where my daughter had just finished her shower and the heater was running.

106_1341

106_1354

Within a few minutes, he was dry and warm and ready to rejoin his (or her) little buddies out in the brooder house.

They’ll be more pictures as the chicks grow.

Looking forward to more eggs in the spring.

Y’all Come Back Now.

 

Here are some of the newest pictures of the chicks and how big they are getting.

106_1386

They are getting much bigger. I had to move the food and water outside to give the chicks more room to grow.

106_1382

This is my baby holding one of the chicks so we can get a close up.

 

106_1373

This is a cute shot of one of the chicks checing out the new feeder. “Hmmm, I wonder if it tastes good. Only one way to find out”.

 

106_1372

Once the first one tried, then they all have to check it out and see if it is better than the same exact food in the other feeder. Decisions, Decisions. Ohh, the life of  a chicken.

I finally had to get a hanging feeder. I still use the small chick feeder so that the “smaller” chicks don’t have to compete for food.

106_1369

I feel like this chick is saying, “I Am King of the Mountain”. This is a game that they like to play.

106_1377

They are starting to get the roosting instict. We have a small 1 x 1 stretched across the run so that they can practice flying up to it and learn to fly.

October 8, 2009. Home and Garden.

2 Comments

  1. Lemonade Makin' Mama replied:

    I loved your comment today on my blog! Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and say hi. I have no idea how I’m going to explain the “why” when my kiddo is 16, but I appreciate the heads up that they WILL ask… 🙂

    By the way… I want chickens too! I keep asking for them, but we are waiting to see if we are going to stay put in this location first. They just seem so funny… and they really don’t know to come in from the rain? Obviously not a bright bird. lol

    Blessings,
    LMM

    • southernwomanchrystal replied:

      I love my chickens. It is always so cool for me to look out the window and see them scratching at the dirt for that juicy worm or bit of grass.

      And of course, the eggs are the best. I can’t even begin to tell you how much better the eggs from my own chickens are. The yellows are almost orange, the whites whip up higher and the taste is unbelievable. And they are better for you.

      Love those chickens. Everyone should have 3 or 30. : )

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

