French and Indian Encampment

The girls and I met some friends and went to Fort Toulouse today for the French and Indian Encampment.

This is a reenactment of what it was like around 1814 when Fort Jackson was being built.

We had a great time. We ate Indian Fry Bread, roasted corn on the cob, smoked turkey legs, drank homemade root beer.

My favorite part was the Indian Stomp Dance. The dancers traveled here from Okalahoma for this event. They come every year and every year I make sure that I sit and watch. I always feel a reverence when witnessing this wonderful display. It makes me want to travel back to Okalahoma and experience it first hand.

Part of this is probably due to the connection I feel with them. My dad’s father’s mother (my great-grandmother) was 100% Native American. My mother’s mother’s grandmother ( my great-great-grandmother) was also 100% Native American. Of course, like just about every other Southerner, I do have various other fractions in there too. The trouble is, I don’t know much about that part of my heritage. See, it was against the law for Native Americans to be here, so if asked they claimed to be “Black Irish” so that they could hold on to thier land. If they didn’t, their land would have been seized and they would have been forced to the reservations that had been designated for them.

So, a lot of that heritage is lost. Those that chose to go underground and stay didn’t really talk much about thier heritage and therefore I don’t really know much.

To further complicate things, my grandfather (Dad’s dad) died when my dad was just 13 and Grandmother (dad’s mother) remarried and didn’t really talk much about him. Grandmother was killed by a 16 yo unlicensed drunk driver out for a joy ride when I was just a little tyke. I never really got the chance to ask her much and my father’s family isn’t really close. I don’t know any of his relatives further back than his older sister. She actually live close by. Maybe I can try and pick her brain one day.

I will post some pictures here within the next few days. Just too tired to go through all the shots now.

Y’all Come Back. And if you are close, Y’all head on over to Fort Toulouse.

November 4, 2009. Notebook.

One Comment

  1. Lemonade Makin' Mama replied:

    That sounds like a wonderful time with your family… and fun to experience things that could be a part of your heritage too!

    Your comment on my blog today just blessed me to pieces. I was so appreciative of your kind words.

    Blessings,
    LMM

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

