And The Verdict Is:

Hives.

Apparently as an allergic reaction to something environmental.

Of course, knowing what it is doesn’t make the insanely-intense itching any better, but it helps to know how to treat it.

I have been trying to find out what has been going on for a week. I was able to make an appointment with the nicest dermatologist in Montgomery, Dr. Mark Herron. His staff are a wonderful group who made me feel welcome and were so helpful. I mean I called at 7am expecting to get a recording telling me the office hours and I got a live person who, after hearing about what was going on with me, told me to come in now and I would be seen. I think I spent about 10 minutes waiting before I was taken to a room. I had brought not one, but two books with me fully expecting to spend a lot of time waiting.

Once I was in the room, Dr. Herron was there in just minutes. I never even got to read an entire page of my book. He examined me (in all the places the hives have come up including my backside) and then took the time to explain to me what was going on with me and why. He explained the medication regimen to me and how and why to take each medicine and then took the time to answer my questions. I was home in no time.

It has only been a day, but  I can already see a difference. I won’t post any pictures of my ailment. If you want to get an idea of what it looks like google “allergic hives” or “pruritis”. Just imagine that pretty much from neck to knees I have spots that are intensely red and itch like crazy.  Today the bumps are smaller, still intensely red and still itch like crazy, but any progress gives me a view of relief soon.

Y’all Come Back Now. 

 

November 17, 2009. Notebook.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

