Christmas: The Aftermath

I hope everyone has enjoyed their holidays so far.

Here in my house we talked about Chanukkah, opened presents on Christmas morning, and hope to ring in the New Year as a family quietly at home.

We put up a tree every year. Always a fresh one. We once had an artificial tree. I was so proud of that tree. It was absolutely beautiful. It had like 1200 points and was 7 1/2 feet tall and looked exactly like a douglas fir. The best part; I bought it at 75% off and put it away for the next year. I had it all planned in my head. Never again would I have to vaccuum up dropped needles out of the carpet. No more watering the tree everyday to avoid having it dry out and catch fire. Never again having to lug the tree out in the days after Christmas. It was all for naught. Our crazy cat kept showing up with these nickel-sized plugs of skin and hair missing. He stayed indoors and it took me a while to finally link the artificial tree to his missin hair. Poor thing. He looked terrible with all of these huge scabs all over his head. I never have figured out what he was doing to pull his hair out.

Anyway, that was the end of the artificial tree. I held on to it for about 8 years.  This year I ran into a friend and her daughter shopping for an artificial tree in a local craft store. They were looking at trees that cost around $200 and, in my opinion, were just plain not worth putting up much less decorating with precious ornaments. Anyway, I remembered the beautiful tree in my barn and asked her if she was interested. Her response, “Uh, it’s free. Yeah I’m interested.” So she drove up to the farm and now is the proud owner of my beautiful tree.

I didn’t take a single picture of this year’s tree. I couldn’t find my SD card for my camera. It was only after I went all the way to Atlanta and met Ree and then promised you pictures that I found out it wasn’t in my cameral. Apparently, my youngest wanted to take pictures with her sister’s camera and needed an SD card, so she took mine and put it in the camera in question. I haven’t found my camera’s USB cord, but when I do I will download the pictures of me and my new best friend (okay, okay, she doesn’t even I know I exsist except for the second when she almost misspelled my name), Ree.

So, in the aftermath of the holiday rush I am still am really busy.See,  I am having UFE done next week and am trying to get  everything in order for my husband and girls to run the house alone for a week or so.  Wish me luck. I am going to need it. For anyone out there who is contemplating this procedure, I will let you know about my experiences later.

Y’all Come Back Now.

December 28, 2009. Notebook.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

