Post UFE-Day 3

Today marks the third day since my UFE procedure.

I am starting to feel more like myself today. I slept through the night only getting up once to take pain medication and the prescribed ibuprofen. My biggest complaint is that the prescription pain medication has caused some trouble with constipation. But I am adding more fiber and am still taking the stool softener as the doctor advised and hope to remedy the situation quickly.

The bruise on my leg is fully developed now and is slightly tender to the touch. The catheterization site is healing well and no longer requires a band-aid to cover it.

I am still tired and easily fatigued. I am taking things slowly and following doctor’s orders to lay off the house work. We all know that I just can’t wait to get back to housework, yeah right, you know me better than that. Now I just have a good excuse not to do it.

I am still experiencing mild to moderate cramping with some spotting. I have not had to wear any kind of protection. Yeah, I know WTMI, but I assume that if you are reading this post you probably are curious about all the details. I have passed a few small clots,  most of them smaller than an english pea. These were not painful and were smaller than the clots I pass during my menstrual cycle. The doctor did tell me than I would more than likely pass a portion of the fibroid due to its location within the uterus. I understand that it is fairly close to the endometrial lining and that raises the probability of my passing portions of it.

I felt well enough to cook a decent meal tonight. I even experimented by preparing Julia Child’s Beef Bourguignon. I also prepared simple oven roasted potatoes as recommended in her book. I was a little trepidatious at first, but I shouldn’t have been. I made extra potatoes thinking that if the main dish were a flop then we could have the potatoes as the main. It was a good thing because they were perfect with the sauce and none of the potatoes or the sauce remained at the end of the meal. My families only request was that next time I make more! Even my six-year-old was scraping up the last bits of sauce from her plate.

Making and eating a decent meal has put me into a better state of mind and has definitely helped speed my recovery. I am glad that I made the effort.

All in all, I am still further ahead in my recovery than I thought I would be at this point. Only time will tell if the procedure will help in the long run or not.

Y’all Come Back Now.

January 8, 2010. Notebook.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

