Post-UFE 1 Week Follow-up

Today I went back to see the interventional radiologist who performed my Uterine Fibroid Embolization last week.

We went over the course of my recovery for the last week. The doctor asked about my first night home and how well I was able to handle the pain with oral pain medicine. I explained that knowing that the pain would be so intense the first 24 hours, I felt more able to handle what happened.

The doctor and I discussed the rest of the week. He asked about any discharge that I was having. I explained the type and amount of discharge (slight mucousy-bloody discharge that sometimes contained small clots). He stated that a small amount of discharge was normal, but that if the amount increased or continued for more than a week I needed to call the nurse and let her know. The doctor also asked about the level of pain that I am continuing to feel. I explained how over the weekend and for the last 2 days I have continued to experience pain that required prescription strength pain medicine. The doctor reassured me that this was normal for the course of recovery and that I should start to improve soon. After our conversation the doctor asked the nurse to turn down the room lights and actually showed me the radiologic video of my procedure on a screen on his wall. It was very interesting to see. I actually got an idea of how the fibroid filled my uterus and why exactly I was having pain in the specific locations that I am.

All in all, the visit did make me feel reassured about my recovery. It is a 45 minute drive each way to the hospital. The drive itself was physically exhausting and did cause me some pain in my right leg (the site of the catheterization).  I did stop by Wal-Mart on the way home for a few things. I also had to stop by the drug store to fill the prescription the doctor gave me for pain medicine. It is the first time I have left the house since the procedure last week. I was gone for a total of 3 1/2 hours and it was enough to sap my energy. I hope my hubby is ready to cook dinner for the kids again tonight because I don’t think I am ready to resume that duty yet.

My next appointment with my doctor is in 5 months when they will repeat the MRI to measure the reduction of the fibroid.

Over the next few days I will keep you updated every few days to let you know how it is going.

Y’all Come Back Now.

January 12, 2010. Notebook.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

