So That’s What She’s Doing….

One of the great joys of being a parent is getting to see the world from a child’s point-of-view.  They go out into world and try to make sense of it and then come back and share.

I love the sharing part.

Yesterday was our semi-annual trip to the dentist for cleanings and check-ups.

My youngest daughter has been to the dentist every 6 months from the time she was born. I made sure that she saw us sit in the chair and have out teeth cleaned for years before it was her turn.

When she was 2 she got her first check-up. Summer (our favorite hygenist) was very patient with Boogie and worked at her pace, letting things advance as Boogie was comfortable. The first year she actually cleaned and polished her two front teeth and then Boogie declared that was enough.

6 months later Boogie progressed to having all of her teeth cleaned and polished and has been going strong in the chair ever since.

I thought that she understood exactly what was going on every time she sat in the chair to have her teeth cleaned.

Yeah, I know, I should have known better.

Yesterday, after our appointment, we get into the van and Boogie shares her thoughts.

“Hey, Mom, I think I figured out something.”

“Really, Boogie, what’s that?”

“When Summer is carving my teeth, she must be making room for my permanent ones.”

It is such a perfect image. In her little mind this woman, petite and sweet as she is, has been carving at my little ones teeth every six months for the last four and a half years.

What kind of love and trust must it have taken for her to believe me when I said that it was okay to sit in the chair and let Summer clean her teeth all these times?

I love my kids.

Y’all Come Back Now.

January 19, 2010. Notebook.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

